Book Review

The Long Winter

February 22, 2017

The Long Winter

Laura Ingalls Wilder

The sixth book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House series follows the Ingalls family and the town of De Smet through one of the harshest winters the territory has experienced. The family, now settled on their claim in the Dakotas, must find a way to survive the oncoming storms. Pa makes the decision to move the family into town for the winter. If the weather is as bad as the old Indian predicted, he knows they must be in an area where food and supplies are available.

As blizzards begin to hit the town one after another, the residents of De Smet find themselves running out of food. The snow has completely cut the town off from supply trains, and they must find a way to survive the winter. Only an act of courage can save the people, but whoever undertakes this act will have to risk his own life.

Many people have named The Long Winter the best book of the series. I certainly would not argue that point, however, each of these books have been wonderful in their own right. This book, maybe more than the others, gave a more inside look at the Ingalls family. Throughout the story, we saw how much each family member contributed to the well-being of the whole. This book displayed the family’s creativity and determination to survive.

♥♥♥♥♥ of 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *